About Gowans

Over the years the Gowans shopping experience has developed from a bespoke tailoring and outfitting business to the current retail enterprise with many diverse products on offer, all retaining the original philosophy of value, variety, and service.

The origins of the business go back to the late 1800’s when James Gowans, ‘tailor and cutter’, the great-grandfather of the present owners, commenced trading in Dalbeattie, specialising in the production of frock-coats and tails for men and bustle skirts and wasp-waists for the ladies. As ready-made garments gained in popularity, his son George Gowans took to the road in his 1903 De Dion motor car and travelled round the Stewartry visiting the farming community and selling from his sample ranges. When his son James Gowans joined the business a move to Castle Douglas was made and the present shop-based trading style was established.

For more than 60 years the head office and main outlet has been based at 81 - 83 King Street, Castle Douglas, but additional premises in Dumfries, Dalbeattie and Kirkcudbright have been added over the years.

In addition, as well as a dedicated children’s wear shop, a move into home furnishings resulted in more premises in Castle Douglas; one for the supply of floor coverings, another solely dealing with curtains, blinds, dress fabrics and household bedding products; whilst the latest addition is a premises showcasing beds and bedsteads and a range of mirrors and framed pictures.

Gowans furnishings shop, Castle Douglas